collux_sketches_projekter_industrial_design

cooperation projects

Collux ZIM project funding

By the end of 2020 we will have tog­e­ther with the Chair for tech­ni­cal che­mi­stry at the Uni­ver­si­ty of Duisburg-Essen and the Com­pa­ny Cry­Las GmbH from Ber­lin car­ri­ed out a col­la­bo­ra­ti­ve project.

This pro­ject was Cen­tral Inno­va­ti­on Pro­gram for SMEs (ZIM) pro­mo­ted. The ZIM is a nati­on­wi­de fun­ding pro­gram that is open to all tech­no­lo­gies and sec­tors, with the aim of sus­tainab­ly streng­t­he­ning the inno­va­ti­ve power and thus the com­pe­ti­ti­ve­ness of medium-sized com­pa­nies. The tech­no­lo­gi­cal inno­va­ti­on con­tent and good mar­ket oppor­tu­nities of the fun­ded R&D pro­jects are essen­ti­al for appro­val (https://www.zim.de/ZIM/Redaktion/DE/Article/ueber-zim.html).

By the end of 2020 we will have tog­e­ther with the Chair for tech­ni­cal che­mi­stry at the Uni­ver­si­ty of Duisburg-Essen and the Com­pa­ny Cry­Las GmbH from Ber­lin car­ri­ed out a col­la­bo­ra­ti­ve project.

This pro­ject was Cen­tral Inno­va­ti­on Pro­gram for SMEs (ZIM) pro­mo­ted. The ZIM is a nati­on­wi­de fun­ding pro­gram that is open to all tech­no­lo­gies and sec­tors, with the aim of sus­tainab­ly streng­t­he­ning the inno­va­ti­ve power and thus the com­pe­ti­ti­ve­ness of medium-sized com­pa­nies. The tech­no­lo­gi­cal inno­va­ti­on con­tent and good mar­ket oppor­tu­nities of the fun­ded R&D pro­jects are essen­ti­al for appro­val (https://www.zim.de/ZIM/Redaktion/DE/Article/ueber-zim.html).

The aim of the three-year coope­ra­ti­on pro­ject was to deve­lop a com­pact and eco­no­mi­c­al­ly attrac­ti­ve machi­ne for the pro­duc­tion of metal nano­par­ti­cle colloids.

Col­lo­idal nano­par­ti­cles are tiny par­ti­cles that are very finely dis­tri­bu­t­ed in water or other sol­vents. With the help of a laser beam, the smal­lest parts are vapo­ri­zed from the sur­face of a solid and bound in a liquid medi­um. They are usual­ly very expen­si­ve: gold nano­par­ti­cles cost about 300 times more than the pure pre­cious metal in the same quan­ti­ty in one pie­ce. The­re are almost no are­as of indus­try and rese­arch in which nano­tech­no­lo­gy is not used. The are­as of app­li­ca­ti­on ran­ge from che­mi­stry and mate­ri­als engi­nee­ring to bio­tech­no­lo­gy, phar­ma­cy and medi­cal tech­no­lo­gy to ener­gy genera­ti­on, ener­gy sto­rage and envi­ron­men­tal protection.

A spin-off of the Pro­jek­ter was aimed at right from the start. In this way, know­ledge trans­fer from the uni­ver­si­ty envi­ron­ment to indus­try could be ensu­red. Due to the deve­lo­p­ment, which was ulti­mate­ly patent pen­ding, and the suc­cess­ful coope­ra­ti­on, the pro­ject came clo­ser and clo­ser. The goal is the spin-off at the begin­ning of 2022 (https://www.uni-due.de/2020-06-29-nanoparticle-on-button-pressure).

projektpartner_zim_förderung_projekter_design

Division of work areas

The com­pa­ny Cry­LaS GmbH was invol­ved in the selec­tion of a sui­ta­ble laser sys­tem and the deve­lo­p­ment of the electri­cal sys­tem, while the Uni­ver­si­ty of Duisburg-Essen was ent­rus­ted with the pro­cess engi­nee­ring basics and the over­all inte­gra­ti­on of the machi­ne.
Our scope of duties inclu­ded product/design deve­lo­p­ment, device ergo­no­mics, housing con­struc­tion and indus­tria­liz­a­ti­on of the pro­to­ty­pe as well as pre­sen­ta­ti­on creation.

The specification

In August 2018 we star­ted the pro­ject with a com­pre­hen­si­ve mar­ket and envi­ron­ment ana­ly­sis. As the cor­ner­stone of pro­duct deve­lo­p­ment, we were able to work out the requi­re­ments for the device with the pro­ject part­ners and sum­ma­ri­ze the results in a joint spe­ci­fi­ca­ti­on sheet. This inclu­ded ergo­no­mic requi­re­ments, for­mal cri­te­ria, envi­ron­men­tal con­di­ti­ons as well as requi­re­ments for the tech­no­lo­gy and the pro­cess as well as for manu­fac­tura­bi­li­ty and pro­duc­tion costs.

The machi­ne should be ergo­no­mic and intui­ti­ve to use. This rela­ted to aspects of manu­al ope­ra­ti­on as well as ope­ra­ti­on via a digi­tal inter­face. This inter­face should gui­de the user through ope­ra­ti­on and the indi­vi­du­al menu steps in as self-explanatory a man­ner as pos­si­ble.
Alt­hough the­re should be a seman­tic refe­rence to rela­ted devices from the labo­ra­to­ry envi­ron­ment, the tech­ni­cal pro­duct inno­va­tions should be visi­ble to the out­side and stand out as a novel­ty from other neigh­bo­ring devices in the labo­ra­to­ry envi­ron­ment. Sin­ce labo­ra­to­ry devices usual­ly remain in exis­tence over long pro­duct cycles, a design that is as timeless as pos­si­ble and a cor­rect and gene­ral­ly app­li­ca­ble use of pro­duct seman­ti­cs were sought.
The design had to take into account a smal­ler seri­es for mar­ket entry.

laborgeräte_design_ industrial

project flow

In the first pha­se of work, it was necessa­ry to pre­cise­ly defi­ne the gene­ral con­di­ti­ons of the pro­ject. The outer dimen­si­ons of the device housing, which were adap­ted to the cir­cum­s­tan­ces of the envi­ron­ment, were rela­tively clear. Com­pact­ness has been defi­ned as one of the pri­ma­ry goals of pro­duct deve­lo­p­ment, as space on labo­ra­to­ry work­ben­ches is limi­ted and mul­ti­ple devices often have to be pla­ced side by side. This resul­ted in maxi­mum dimen­si­ons in depth and height. A width has not been set for the time being. Basi­cal­ly, howe­ver, it was important to keep the foot­print of the device as small as possible.

At the same time, the team from the uni­ver­si­ty and the com­pa­ny Cry­LaS deve­lo­ped a first pos­si­ble tech­no­lo­gy packa­ge, con­sis­ting of optics and elec­tro­nic com­pon­ents, which defi­ned the mini­mum dimen­si­ons of the housing. For the con­struc­tion of the machi­ne, the fol­lowing app­lied: the more com­pact the housing, the more cost-effective and easy to inte­gra­te the device is in pro­duc­tion and in use.

materialkasette_zim_projekter_design

It was deter­mi­ned that the nano­col­lo­ids should be pro­du­ced with the hig­hest pos­si­ble puri­ty. The star­ting mate­ri­als should be three pre­cious metals (gold, sil­ver and pla­ti­num) and a col­lo­id medi­um (flu­id).

So we nee­ded both an exch­an­ge­ab­le mate­ri­al car­tridge and three liquid con­tai­ners, becau­se in addi­ti­on to the flu­id we also nee­ded a con­tai­ner for the liquid to flush the sys­tem and a sta­bi­li­zer solu­ti­on.
In addi­ti­on, a release quan­ti­ty was defi­ned as a mea­su­re for the inten­ded collec­tion vessel.

konzeptfelder_projekter_industrial_design

While the Uni­ver­si­ty of Duisburg-Essen and Cry­Las were con­duc­ting various seri­es of tests to deter­mi­ne the pre­re­qui­si­tes for opti­mal pro­duc­ti­vi­ty of the abla­ti­on (pro­cess of col­lo­id crea­ti­on), we crea­ted the first ergo­no­mic and topo­lo­gy con­cepts based on the key data known at the time.

For this pur­po­se, the ques­ti­ons had to be ans­we­red befo­re­hand as to which func­tions the machi­ne has and which requi­re­ments must be met in the area of con­flict bet­ween users, envi­ron­ment and technology.

The fol­lowing sub­ject are­as could be defi­ned by the sche­ma­tic drawing of the nano-automatic machine:

  • flu­id delivery
  • Tar­get
  • UI
  • collec­tion vessel
  • inner workings
  • housing con­struc­tion.

In this way, it was pos­si­ble to deter­mi­ne which fac­tors were set and for which sub-areas new con­cepts were required.

To sup­port this, we crea­ted a pro­cess matrix. With the help of the plan, we were not only able to simu­la­te a detail­ed cour­se of action for the user, but also to dis­c­lo­se weak points and poten­ti­al risks in the process.

In order to ensu­re good device ergo­no­mics, a par­ti­cu­lar focus was on inves­ti­ga­ting the inter­ac­tion points bet­ween humans and the device. As a result, we were able to defi­ne are­as of action. The­se inclu­de ope­ra­ti­on via the digi­tal inter­face, fil­ling and repla­cing the flu­id tanks, inser­ting or repla­cing the tar­get housing and remo­ving the finis­hed pre­cious metal colloid.

prozessmatrix_nanovollautomat_design_projekter
globalkonzepte_design

With the help of ana­lo­gies, for examp­le the ejec­tion mecha­nism of a his­to­ric Nin­ten­do 64 con­so­le, which we trans­fer­red to the device con­text, simp­le and robust ope­ra­ting con­cepts could be developed.

In order to check ergo­no­mics and func­tion, we made mock­ups of three favo­ri­te con­struc­tion vari­ants. At this ear­ly sta­ge of the pro­cess and in the deve­lo­p­ment of the­se ergo­no­mic con­cepts, the "design" in the sen­se of an aes­the­tic, exter­nal design did not play a role. It is important that the func­tio­n­a­li­ty of a device is gua­ran­te­ed first, so that the aes­the­tics can then be matched to the function.

We had the resul­ting models tes­ted and com­men­ted on by poten­ti­al users in the pro­duct envi­ron­ment over a lon­ger peri­od of time. This allo­wed us to cor­rect errors through ear­ly tes­ting pha­ses and ensu­re that our con­cepts worked in the field test.

Our work­shop infra­st­ruc­tu­re also pro­ved to be necessa­ry and hel­pful in this pro­ject. We deve­lo­ped a remova­ble mate­ri­al cas­set­te, which we pro­du­ced in our in-house 3D labo­ra­to­ry using 3D prin­ting. We made the­se avail­ab­le to the uni­ver­si­ty so that the func­tion and tight­ness of the cas­set­te could be tes­ted in the test seri­es and tes­ted in con­nec­tion with the ejec­tion mecha­nism, which we also developed.

formfindung_design_gerätedesign_projekter

"How can we imagine the case?"

In the next step we star­ted with the design and tech­ni­cal imple­men­ta­ti­on of the machi­ne housing. An important step, becau­se up until now we only had a con­cept and, thanks to the pro­to­ty­pes, an idea of how the struc­tu­re would be. The pro­ject part­ners initi­al­ly found it dif­fi­cult to ima­gi­ne how the black card­board boxes would beco­me a real device. What we nee­ded was a sui­ta­ble visua­liz­a­ti­on. In addi­ti­on to the many skills, the designer's abi­li­ty to turn ide­as into real pro­ducts is the decisi­ve factor.

We deve­lo­ped a design for the machi­ne that was aes­the­tic, based on ergo­no­mic know­ledge, met all safe­ty requi­re­ments and was easy to imple­ment accord­ing to the pro­duc­tion method.

The small seri­es of 20-500 pie­ces requi­red pro­duc­tion methods without expen­si­ve mold or jig con­struc­tion. Here it beca­me clear once again that no com­pro­mi­ses in design are necessa­ry, even with major restric­tions in terms of manu­fac­tu­ring opti­ons. Sin­ce we have alrea­dy worked suc­cess­ful­ly on pro­jects with simi­lar issu­es in the past, we were able to draw on our expe­ri­ence in the field of design with bent sheet metal and fold­ed parts.

Taking the requi­re­ments cata­log into account, two design vari­ants were crea­ted. One vari­ant impres­sed with its mini­mal foot­print, while the other vari­ant was based on fron­tal ope­ra­ti­on as a cen­tral fea­ture of the design.
The­se were pre­sen­ted and dis­cus­sed at a pro­ject mee­ting. The main dif­fe­rence is the loca­ti­on of the two flu­id con­tai­ners. The "easy front access" vari­ant con­vin­ced all pro­ject part­ners unani­mous­ly in terms of hand­ling and design potential.

gerätedesign_projekter_industrial
blechbiegen_projekter_design_zim

Iteration loops are part of our everyday life

Sin­ce the laser sys­tem used up to that point did not achie­ve the desi­red per­for­mance and the device would not have been suf­fi­ci­ent­ly com­pe­ti­ti­ve on the mar­ket in this con­fi­gu­ra­ti­on, a more power­ful laser beam source had to be used and tes­ted again. The alter­na­ti­ve laser sys­tem final­ly pro­vi­ded the desi­red pro­duc­ti­vi­ty. As a result, the device topo­lo­gy had to be revi­sed and the design and CAD had to be adap­ted to the new, lar­ger instal­la­ti­on space of the technology.

Cor­rec­tion loo­ps are part of the deve­lo­p­ment pro­cess and are valu­able in ear­ly pha­ses, sin­ce the­re is still the oppor­tu­ni­ty to imple­ment them without gre­at expen­se. The­se types of adjus­t­ments and opti­miz­a­ti­ons are also part of our day-to-day busi­ness in other projects.

In par­ti­cu­lar, the aspect of pos­si­ble sca­ling, which was alrea­dy dis­cus­sed when eva­lua­ting the two design vari­ants, now tur­ned out to be a gre­at advan­ta­ge.
In this way, the adap­t­ati­on could be imple­men­ted without chan­ging the cha­rac­ter and the ori­gi­nal design ide­as of the machine.

modellbau_projekter_design_zim

prototyping

Our final work packa­ge con­sis­ted of put­ting the deve­lo­ped design in our pro­to­ty­pe work­shop imple­ment. During plan­ning and con­struc­tion, care was taken to ensu­re that the housing can be built back to 100% in the pro­to­ty­pe sta­ge so that any chan­ges can be made after­wards. For examp­le, ins­tead of per­ma­nent wel­ded joints, the housing parts were initi­al­ly screwed tog­e­ther. Later, in seri­es pro­duc­tion, various screw con­nec­tions can be repla­ced by welds, which fur­ther redu­ces assem­bly work and pro­duc­tion cos­ts. After recei­ving the extern­al­ly manu­fac­tu­red housing parts, which we had pre­vious­ly desi­gned in CAD, we were able to start assemb­ling the func­tio­n­al pro­to­ty­pe. Made of bent sheet metal and fold­ed parts, mil­led parts , screws and 3D prin­ted parts , through pain­ting, assem­bly and pas­ting with pro­duct gra­phics, the first two nano ful­ly auto­ma­tic machi­nes were crea­ted step by step.

The con­clu­si­on of the pro­ject was the inser­ti­on of the moun­ting pla­te with the laser sys­tem and the con­nec­tion of the housing and the tech­ni­cal unit.
The result is two func­tio­n­al pro­to­ty­pes that, as plan­ned, can be used to pre­sent the pro­ject idea at tra­de fairs or simi­lar events and for initi­al field tests.

collux1_black_zim_design_projekter

The result

The coope­ra­ti­on pro­ject fun­ded by the ZIM is a good examp­le of how inter­di­sci­pli­na­ry coope­ra­ti­on can work and what a key role indus­tri­al desi­gners can play. The plan to deve­lop a com­pact and eco­no­mi­c­al­ly attrac­ti­ve desk­top device for the crea­ti­on of metal nano­par­ti­cle col­lo­ids was ful­fil­led. The clo­se coope­ra­ti­on was cru­cial, so that a lively flow of infor­ma­ti­on could be main­tai­ned and we sup­por­ted each other with the respec­ti­ve com­pe­ten­ci­es.
We con­si­der the trans­fer of know­ledge and inno­va­ti­ve rese­arch results from aca­de­mia to indus­try to be par­ti­cu­lar­ly important. That is why we are proud to be part of the coope­ra­ti­on and, as an inno­va­ti­on dri­ver and implementation-oriented part­ner, to bring ide­as to the mar­ket eco­no­mi­c­al­ly. We not only hel­ped with fin­ding the shape of the machi­ne housing and its ergo­no­mics, but also made our con­tri­bu­ti­on to the pro­cess opti­miz­a­ti­on for crea­ting the colloid.

The decla­red goal of the spin-off is plan­ned for 2022.
We wish them every suc­cess and are plea­sed that we will con­ti­nue to accom­pa­ny the young start-up as a design and deve­lo­p­ment partner.

collux_sketches_projekter_industrial_design

Kooperationsprojekte

Collux ZIM-Projektförderung

Bis Ende 2020 haben wir gemein­sam mit dem Lehr­stuhl für tech­ni­sche Che­mie der Uni­ver­si­tät Duisburg-Essen und der Fir­ma Cry­Las GmbH aus Ber­lin ein Koope­ra­ti­ons­pro­jekt durchgeführt.

Die­ses Vor­ha­ben wur­de vom Zen­tra­len Inno­va­ti­ons­pro­gramm Mit­tel­stand (ZIM) geför­dert. Das ZIM ist ein bun­des­wei­tes, technologie- und bran­chen­of­fe­nes För­der­pro­gramm, bei dem die Inno­va­ti­ons­kraft und damit die Wett­be­werbs­fä­hig­keit mit­tel­stän­di­scher Unter­neh­men nach­hal­tig gestärkt wer­den soll. Wesent­lich für eine Bewil­li­gung sind der tech­no­lo­gi­sche Inno­va­ti­ons­ge­halt sowie gute Markt­chan­cen der geför­der­ten FuE-Projekte (https://www.zim.de/ZIM/Redaktion/DE/Artikel/ueber-zim.html).

Bis Ende 2020 haben wir gemein­sam mit dem Lehr­stuhl für tech­ni­sche Che­mie der Uni­ver­si­tät Duisburg-Essen und der Fir­ma Cry­Las GmbH aus Ber­lin ein Koope­ra­ti­ons­pro­jekt durchgeführt.

Die­ses Vor­ha­ben wur­de vom Zen­tra­len Inno­va­ti­ons­pro­gramm Mit­tel­stand (ZIM) geför­dert. Das ZIM ist ein bun­des­wei­tes, technologie- und bran­chen­of­fe­nes För­der­pro­gramm, bei dem die Inno­va­ti­ons­kraft und damit die Wett­be­werbs­fä­hig­keit mit­tel­stän­di­scher Unter­neh­men nach­hal­tig gestärkt wer­den soll. Wesent­lich für eine Bewil­li­gung sind der tech­no­lo­gi­sche Inno­va­ti­ons­ge­halt sowie gute Markt­chan­cen der geför­der­ten FuE-Projekte (https://www.zim.de/ZIM/Redaktion/DE/Artikel/ueber-zim.html).

Ziel des drei­jäh­ri­gen Koope­ra­ti­ons­pro­jek­tes war es, einen mög­lichst kom­pak­ten und wirt­schaft­lich attrak­ti­ven Auto­ma­ten zur Erstel­lung von Metallna­no­par­ti­kel­kol­lo­iden zu entwickeln.

Kol­lo­ida­le Nano­par­ti­kel sind win­zi­ge Teil­chen, die sehr fein ver­teilt in Was­ser oder ande­ren Lösungs­mit­teln vor­lie­gen. Aus der Ober­flä­che eines Fest­kör­pers wer­den, mit Hil­fe eines Laser­strahls, kleins­te Tei­le ver­dampft und in einem flüs­si­gen Medi­um gebun­den. Sie sind nor­ma­ler­wei­se sehr teu­er: So kos­ten Gold-Nanopartikel etwa 300-mal mehr als das rei­ne Edel­me­tall in glei­cher Men­ge am Stück. Es gibt nahe zu kei­ne Berei­che der Indus­trie und For­schung, in dem Nano­tech­no­lo­gie nicht ver­wen­det wird. Die Ein­satz­ge­bie­te rei­chen von der Che­mie und Werk­stoff­tech­nik über die Bio­tech­no­lo­gie, Phar­ma­zie und Medi­zin­tech­nik bis hin zur Ener­gie­ge­win­nung, Ener­gie­spei­che­rung und zum Umweltschutz.

Eine Aus­grün­dung des Pro­jekt­er­geb­nis­ses wur­de von Beginn an ange­strebt. So konn­te der Wis­sens­trans­fer aus dem uni­ver­si­tä­ren Umfeld hin­ein in die Indus­trie sicher­ge­stellt wer­den. Durch die, letzt­end­lich zum Patent ange­mel­de­te, Ent­wick­lung und die erfolg­rei­che Zusam­men­ar­beit rück­te das Vor­ha­ben immer mehr in greif­ba­re Nähe. Ziel ist die Aus­grün­dung Anfang 2022 (https://www.uni-due.de/2020-06-29-nanopartikel-auf-knopfdruck).

projektpartner_zim_förderung_projekter_design

Aufteilung der Arbeitsbereiche

Die Fir­ma Cry­LaS GmbH war mit der Aus­wahl eines pas­sen­den Laser­sys­tems sowie der Aus­ar­bei­tung des elek­tri­schen Sys­tems befasst, wäh­rend die Uni­ver­si­tät Duisburg-Essen mit den pro­zess­tech­ni­schen Grund­la­gen und der Gesamt­in­te­gra­ti­on des Auto­ma­ten betraut war.
Unser Auf­ga­ben­feld umfass­te die Produkt-/ Design­ent­wick­lung, die Gerä­te­er­go­no­mie, die Gehäu­se­kon­struk­ti­on und Indus­tria­li­sie­rung des Pro­to­ty­pen sowie die Präsentationserstellung.

Das Lastenheft

Im August 2018 star­te­ten wir das Pro­jekt mit einer umfas­sen­den Markt- und Umfeld­ana­ly­se. Als Grund­stein der Pro­dukt­ent­wick­lung konn­ten wir die Anfor­de­run­gen an das Gerät mit den Pro­jekt­part­nern erar­bei­ten und fass­ten die Ergeb­nis­se in einem gemein­sa­men Las­ten­heft zusam­men. Die­ses umfass­te sowohl ergo­no­mi­sche Ansprü­che, for­ma­le Kri­te­ri­en, Gege­ben­hei­ten des Umfel­des als auch Anfor­de­run­gen an die Tech­nik und das Ver­fah­ren sowie an die Her­stell­bar­keit und die Produktionskosten.

So soll­te der Auto­mat ergo­no­misch und intui­tiv zu bedie­nen sein. Dies bezog sich sowohl auf Aspek­te der manu­el­len Bedie­nung als auch auf die Bedie­nung über ein digi­ta­les Inter­face. Die­ses Inter­face soll­te den Benutzer/ die Benut­ze­rin mög­lichst selbst­er­klä­rend durch die Bedie­nung und die ein­zel­nen Menü­schrit­te füh­ren.
Zwar soll­te eine seman­ti­sche Anleh­nung an ver­wand­te Gerä­te aus dem Labor­um­feld statt­fin­den, jedoch soll­ten die tech­ni­schen Pro­dukt­in­no­va­tio­nen nach außen hin sicht­bar wer­den und sich als Neu­heit von ande­ren benach­bar­ten Gerä­ten im Labor­um­feld abhe­ben. Da Labor­ge­rä­te in der Regel über lan­ge Pro­dukt­zy­klen bestehen blei­ben, wur­de ein mög­lichst zeit­lo­ses Design und eine kor­rek­te und all­ge­mein gül­ti­ge Ver­wen­dung von Pro­dukt­se­man­tik ange­strebt.
Die Gestal­tung muss­te unter Berück­sich­ti­gung einer zum Markt­ein­tritt klei­ne­ren Serie erfolgen.

laborgeräte_design_ industrial

Projektablauf

In der ers­ten Arbeits­pha­se war es not­wen­dig, die Rah­men­be­din­gun­gen des Pro­jek­tes genau zu defi­nie­ren. Rela­tiv ein­deu­tig zu benen­nen waren hier die äuße­ren Abmes­sun­gen des Gerä­te­ge­häu­ses, die an die Gege­ben­hei­ten des Umfelds ange­passt wur­den. Kom­pakt­heit ist als eines der pri­mä­ren Zie­le der Pro­dukt­ent­wick­lung defi­niert wor­den, da der Platz auf den Arbeits­ti­schen in den Labo­ren begrenzt ist und oft­mals meh­re­re Gerä­te neben­ein­an­der Platz fin­den müs­sen. Dadurch erga­ben sich maxi­ma­le Abmes­sun­gen in Tie­fe und Höhe. Ein Brei­ten­maß wur­de vor­erst nicht fest­ge­legt. Grund­sätz­lich galt jedoch, den Foot­print des Gerä­tes so schmal wie mög­lich zu halten.

Par­al­lel hier­zu erar­bei­te­te das Team der Uni­ver­si­tät und die Fir­ma Cry­LaS ein ers­tes mög­li­ches Tech­nik­pa­ket, bestehend aus Optik- und Elek­tronik­kom­po­nen­ten, wel­ches die Min­dest­ma­ße des Gehäu­ses defi­nier­te. Für den Auf­bau des Auto­ma­ten galt: je kom­pak­ter das Gehäu­se, des­to kos­ten­güns­ti­ger und inte­grier­ba­rer ist das Gerät bei der Fer­ti­gung und im Einsatz.

materialkasette_zim_projekter_design

Es wur­de fest­ge­legt, dass die Nano­kol­lo­ide in einer mög­lichst hohen Rein­heit erzeugt wer­den sol­len. Aus­gangs­ma­te­ria­li­en soll­ten zum einen drei Edel­me­tal­le (Gold, Sil­ber und Pla­tin) und zum ande­ren ein Kol­lo­id­me­di­um (Flu­id) sein.

So brauch­ten wir sowohl eine wech­sel­ba­re Mate­ri­al­kas­set­te als auch drei Flüs­sig­keits­be­häl­ter, denn neben dem Flu­id benö­tig­ten wir zusätz­lich ein Gefäß für die Flüs­sig­keit zum Spü­len des Sys­tems sowie eine Sta­bi­li­sa­to­ren­lö­sung.
Dar­über hin­aus wur­de eine Abga­be­men­ge als Maß für das ange­dach­te Auf­fang­ge­fäß definiert.

konzeptfelder_projekter_industrial_design

Wäh­rend die Uni­ver­si­tät Duisburg-Essen und Cry­Las diver­se Ver­suchs­rei­hen bezüg­lich der Ermitt­lung von Vor­aus­set­zun­gen für eine opti­ma­le Pro­duk­ti­vi­tät der Abla­ti­on (Pro­zess der Kol­lo­ider­stel­lung) durch­führ­ten, erstell­ten wir, auf Basis der zu dem Zeit­punkt bekann­ten Eck­da­ten, ers­te Ergonomie- und Topologiekonzepte.

Hier­für galt es zuvor die Fra­gen zu beant­wor­ten, wel­che Funk­tio­nen der Auto­mat hat und wel­che Anfor­de­run­gen im Span­nungs­feld von Nut­zen­den, Umge­bung und Tech­nik erfüllt wer­den müssen.

Fol­gen­de The­men­be­rei­che konn­ten durch die sche­ma­ti­sche Zeich­nung des Nano­voll­au­to­ma­ten defi­niert werden:

  • Fluid-Zufuhr
  • Tar­get
  • User Inter­face
  • Auf­fang­ge­fäß
  • inne­re Funktionsweise
  • Gehäu­se­kon­struk­ti­on.

Auf die­se Wei­se konn­te ermit­telt wer­den, wel­che Fak­to­ren gesetzt waren und für wel­che Teil­be­rei­che neue Kon­zep­te benö­tigt wurden.

Unter­stüt­zend hier­zu erstell­ten wir eine Pro­zess­ma­trix. Anhand des Plans waren wir in der Lage, nicht nur einen detail­lier­ten Hand­lungs­ab­lauf des Nut­zen­den zu simu­lie­ren, son­dern auch Schwach­stel­len und mög­li­che Gefah­ren­po­ten­zia­le im Pro­zess offenzulegen.

Um eine gute Gerä­te­er­go­no­mie sicher­zu­stel­len, lag ein beson­de­rer Schwer­punkt auf der Unter­su­chung der Inter­ak­ti­ons­stel­len zwi­schen Mensch und Gerät. Als Erkennt­nis dar­aus konn­ten wir Akti­ons­be­rei­che fest­le­gen. Die­se umfas­sen die Bedie­nung durch das digi­ta­le Inter­face, das Befül­len und Aus­wech­seln der Flu­id­tanks, das Ein­set­zen bzw. der Tausch der Tar­get­ge­häu­se und die Ent­nah­me des fer­ti­gen Edelmetallkolloids.

prozessmatrix_nanovollautomat_design_projekter
globalkonzepte_design

Mit­hil­fe von Ana­lo­gien, zum Bei­spiel der Aus­wurf­me­cha­nik einer his­to­ri­schen Nin­ten­do 64 Kon­so­le, die wir in den Gerä­te­kon­text über­tru­gen, konn­ten ein­fa­che und robus­te Bedien­kon­zep­te erar­bei­tet werden.

Um Ergo­no­mie und Funk­ti­on zu über­prü­fen, fer­tig­ten wir Mock­ups von drei favo­ri­sier­ten Auf­bau­va­ri­an­ten an. In die­sem frü­hen Sta­di­um des Pro­zes­ses und bei der Erar­bei­tung die­ser Ergonomie-Konzepte spiel­te das „Design“ im Sin­ne einer ästhe­ti­schen, äuße­ren Gestal­tung noch kei­ne Rol­le. Es ist wich­tig, dass zunächst die Funk­tio­na­li­tät eines Gerä­tes gewähr­leis­tet ist, um im Anschluss die Ästhe­tik auf die Funk­ti­on abzustimmen.

Die ent­stan­de­nen Model­le lie­ßen wir im Pro­dukt­um­feld von poten­zi­el­len Anwen­dern und Anwen­de­rin­nen über eine län­ge­re Zeit tes­ten und kom­men­tie­ren. So konn­ten wir durch frü­he Test­pha­sen Feh­ler kor­ri­gie­ren und sicher­stel­len, dass unse­re Kon­zep­te im Feld­ver­such funktionierten.

Unse­re Werkstatt-Infrastruktur erwies sich auch in die­sem Pro­jekt als not­wen­dig und hilf­reich. Wir ent­wi­ckel­ten eine ent­nehm­ba­re Mate­ri­al­kas­set­te, die wir in unse­rem haus­ei­ge­nen 3D-Labor mit­tels 3D-Druck anfer­tig­ten. Die­se stell­ten wir der Uni­ver­si­tät zur Ver­fü­gung, sodass die Kas­set­te in den Ver­suchs­rei­hen auf Funk­ti­on und Dicht­heit geprüft wer­den und in Ver­bin­dung, mit der eben­falls von uns ent­wi­ckel­ten Aus­wurf­me­cha­nik getes­tet wer­den konnte.

formfindung_design_gerätedesign_projekter

Wie können wir uns das Gehäuse vorstellen?“

Im nächs­ten Schritt began­nen wir mit der Gestal­tung und tech­ni­schen Umset­zung des Auto­ma­ten­ge­häu­ses. Ein wich­ti­ger Schritt, denn wir hat­ten bis­her nur ein Kon­zept und durch die Pro­to­ty­pen eine Idee davon, wie der Auf­bau wer­den wür­de. Wie aus den schwar­zen Papp-Kästen ein ech­tes Gerät wer­den soll­te, konn­ten sich die Pro­jekt­part­ner zunächst nur schwer vor­stel­len. Was wir brauch­ten war eine pas­sen­de Visua­li­sie­rung. Neben den vie­len Kom­pe­ten­zen ist die Fähig­keit des Desi­gners, aus Ideen ech­te Pro­duk­te wer­den zu las­sen, die entscheidende.

Wir ent­wi­ckel­ten eine Gestal­tung des Auto­ma­ten, die ästhe­tisch war, den ergo­no­mi­schen Erkennt­nis­sen fol­gend, allen Sicher­heits­an­for­de­run­gen genü­gend und ent­spre­chend der Fer­ti­gungs­me­tho­de ein­fach umzu­set­zen war.

Die in Klein­se­rie ange­setz­te Stück­zahl von 20-500 Stück, ver­lang­te Fer­ti­gungs­me­tho­den ohne teu­ren Formen- oder Vor­rich­tungs­bau. Hier wur­de ein­mal mehr deut­lich, dass selbst unter gro­ßen Ein­schrän­kun­gen bezüg­lich der Fer­ti­gungs­mög­lich­kei­ten kei­ne Abstri­che im Design not­wen­dig sind. Da wir in der Ver­gan­gen­heit bereits erfolg­reich an Pro­jek­ten mit ver­gleich­ba­ren Fra­ge­stel­lun­gen gear­bei­tet haben, konn­ten wir aus unse­ren Erfah­run­gen im Bereich Gestal­tung mit Blechbiege- und Kant­tei­len schöpfen.

Unter Berück­sich­ti­gung des Anfor­de­rungs­ka­ta­lo­ges ent­stan­den zwei Design-Varianten. Eine Vari­an­te über­zeug­te durch ihre mini­ma­le Stell­flä­che, wohin­ge­gen die ande­re Vari­an­te die fron­ta­le Bedie­nung als zen­tra­les Merk­mal der Gestal­tung zu Grun­de lag.
Die­se wur­den in einem Pro­jekt­tref­fen vor­ge­stellt und dis­ku­tiert. Haupt­un­ter­schied besteht in der Ver­or­tung der bei­den Flu­id­be­häl­ter. Die Vari­an­te „easy front Access“ über­zeug­te alle Pro­jekt­part­ner ein­stim­mig in Hand­ha­bung und Gestaltungpotentialen.

gerätedesign_projekter_industrial
blechbiegen_projekter_design_zim

Iterationsschleifen gehören für uns zum Alltag

Da das bis dato ver­wen­de­te Laser­sys­tem nicht die gewünsch­te Leis­tung erziel­te und das Gerät in die­ser Kon­fi­gu­ra­ti­on auf dem Markt nicht aus­rei­chend wett­be­werbs­fä­hig gewe­sen wäre, muss­te eine stär­ke­re Laser­strahl­quel­le ein­ge­setzt und erneut getes­tet wer­den. Das alter­na­ti­ve Laser­sys­tem erbrach­te schließ­lich die gewünsch­te Pro­duk­ti­vi­tät. In der Kon­se­quenz muss­te die Gerä­te­to­po­lo­gie über­ar­bei­tet und somit auch das Design bzw. das CAD dem neu­en, grö­ße­ren Bau­raum der Tech­nik ange­passt werden.

Kor­rek­tur­schlei­fen gehö­ren zum Ent­wick­lungs­pro­zess dazu und sind in frü­hen Pha­sen wert­voll, da hier noch die Mög­lich­keit besteht, sie ohne gro­ße Kos­ten umzu­set­zen. Die­se Art der Anpas­sun­gen und Opti­mie­run­gen gehö­ren auch in ande­ren Pro­jek­ten zu unse­rem Tagesgeschäft.

Ins­be­son­de­re der Aspekt einer mög­li­chen Ska­lie­rung, der bereits bei der Bewer­tung der bei­den Design­va­ri­an­ten dis­ku­tiert wur­de, erwies sich nun als gro­ßer Vor­teil.
So war die Anpas­sung umsetz­bar, ohne den Cha­rak­ter und den ursprüng­li­chen Design­ge­dan­ken des Auto­ma­ten zu ändern.

modellbau_projekter_design_zim

Prototypenbau

Unser fina­les Arbeits­pa­ket bestand dar­in, das erar­bei­te­te Design in unse­rer Pro­to­ty­pen­werk­statt umzu­set­zen. Es wur­de in der Pla­nung und Kon­struk­ti­on dar­auf geach­tet, dass das Gehäu­se im Pro­to­ty­pen­sta­di­um zu 100% zurück gebaut wer­den kann, um even­tu­el­le Ände­run­gen im Nach­hin­ein vor­neh­men zu kön­nen. So wur­de bei­spiels­wei­se an Stel­le von dau­er­haf­ten Schweiß­ver­bin­dun­gen vor­erst auf Ver­schrau­bun­gen der Gehäu­se­tei­le gesetzt. Spä­ter, in der Seri­en­fer­ti­gung, kön­nen diver­se Schraub­ver­bin­dun­gen durch Schweiß­stel­len ersetzt wer­den, wodurch der Mon­ta­ge­auf­wand und die Pro­duk­ti­ons­kos­ten wei­ter redu­ziert wer­den. Nach Erhalt der extern gefer­tig­ten Gehäu­se­tei­le, wel­che zuvor von uns in CAD kon­stru­iert wur­den, konn­ten wir mit der Mon­ta­ge des funk­ti­ons­fä­hi­gen Pro­to­ty­pen star­ten. Aus Blechbiege- und Kant­tei­len, Fräs­tei­len , Schrau­ben und 3D-Druck-Teilen , durch Lackie­ren, Mon­ta­ge und Bekle­bung mit Pro­dukt­gra­fik ent­stan­den Schritt für Schritt die ers­ten zwei Nano-Vollautomaten.

Den Abschluss des Pro­jek­tes bil­de­te das Ein­set­zen der Mon­ta­ge­plat­te mit dem Laser­sys­tem und der Ver­bin­dung von Gehäu­se und Technik­ein­heit.
Das Ergeb­nis sind zwei funk­ti­ons­fä­hi­ge Pro­to­ty­pen, die, wie ange­dacht, zur Prä­sen­ta­ti­on der Pro­jekt­idee auf Mes­sen oder ähn­li­chen Ver­an­stal­tun­gen und für ers­te Feld­tests ein­ge­setzt wer­den können.

collux1_black_zim_design_projekter

Das Ergebnis

Das durch das ZIM geför­der­te Koope­ra­ti­ons­pro­jekt ist ein gutes Bei­spiel, wie inter­dis­zi­pli­nä­re Koope­ra­ti­on funk­tio­nie­ren kann und wel­chen zen­tra­len Anteil Industrial-Designer leis­ten kön­nen. Das Vor­ha­ben, ein kom­pak­tes und wirt­schaft­lich attrak­ti­ves Desk­top­ge­rät zur Erstel­lung von Metallna­no­par­ti­kel­kol­lo­iden zu ent­wi­ckeln, wur­de erfüllt. Ent­schei­dend war die enge Zusam­men­ar­beit, sodass ein reger Infor­ma­ti­ons­fluss auf­recht erhal­ten wer­den konn­te und man sich gegen­sei­tig mit den jewei­li­gen Kom­pe­ten­zen unter­stütz­te.
Wir erach­ten den Trans­fer von Wis­sen und inno­va­ti­ven For­schungs­er­geb­nis­sen aus den aka­de­mi­schen Berei­chen in die Indus­trie als beson­ders wich­tig. Des­halb sind wir stolz, Teil der Koope­ra­ti­on sein zu kön­nen und als Inno­va­ti­ons­trei­ber und umset­zungs­ori­en­tier­te Part­ner, Ideen wirt­schaft­lich in den Markt zu brin­gen. Wir hal­fen nicht nur bei der Form­fin­dung des Auto­ma­ten­ge­häu­ses und des­sen Ergo­no­mie, son­dern leis­te­ten auch bei der Pro­zess­op­ti­mie­rung zur Erstel­lung des Kol­lo­ides unse­ren Beitrag.

Das erklär­te Ziel der Aus­grün­dung ist für das Jahr 2022 geplant.
Hier­für wün­schen wir viel Erfolg und freu­en uns, dass wir das jun­ge Start-Up auch wei­ter­hin als Design- und Ent­wick­lungs­part­ner beglei­ten werden.